i met someone yesterday i can’t get out of my head today

by willeya

i really have no business writing tonight.  it is ben and my anniversary tomorrow and we have designated this evening to working on our gifts for the other. but lately, writing has become like sneezing…a thought builds and builds inside of me until i can’t contain it and i just have to get it out on (virtual) paper.  and so quickly, here i am again…

certain people, when i meet them, compel me.  they intrigue and draw me in.  when i am with them, my whole self is engaged.  i think, i laugh, i listen, i talk, i get hyper.  when i leave them, i replay our interactions, enjoying them again.  and i always, always look forward to the next time.  the most random people compel me.  some are 70; some are latin; some are male; some are liberal; some are WASPS; some are christian – some are not; some are alive – some are not.   i don’t have a type, per say.  it’s something that bypasses categories to the spirit.

i met someone most compelling yesterday.  i met him in the moorestown barnes and noble, in the cafe while drinking coffee.  three hours into our meeting, ben had to pry me (literally) away from him.  i told him i would come again soon.  of course, he didn’t say anything back because books can’t talk.

abraham lincoln.  mmm, what is it about him that that lit a fire in my gut, that made me want to be a better person?  i talked to ben about this at length and tried to articulate it to jamie today.  i came up with three things:  1.  he had a secure, realistic view of himself.  he was not threatened by others.  2.  he cared enough to observe others plainly and without presumption.  3.  the combination of these two created in him a simple (it would be there for all of us to see if we were both secure and interested) yet profound understanding of human nature and commitment to right.  oh, and a fourth:  he was incredible with words – an artist, really.

he compels me.  what i really mean to say is this: what i read in him, i want in me.

for your reading pleasure, here are 15 quotes i most enjoyed.  which is your favorite?….

“Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power.”

“I don’t like that man. I must get to know him better.”

“You have to do your own growing no matter how tall your grandfather was.”

“To sin by silence, when they should protest, makes cowards of men.”

“We should be too big to take offense and too noble to give it.”

“It is difficult to make a man miserable while he feels worthy of himself and claims kindred to the great God who made him.”

“I care not for a man’s religion whose dog and cat are not the better for it.”

“There are no bad pictures; that’s just how your face looks sometimes.”

“You destroy your enemy when you make him your friend.”

“Friend, the Lord prefers common-looking people. That is why there are so many of them.”

“With educated people, I suppose, punctuation is a matter of rule; with me it is a matter of feeling. But I must say I have a great respect for the semicolin; it’s a useful little chap”

“If there is anything that links the human to the divine, it is the courage to stand by a principle when everybody else rejects it.”

“I desire so to conduct the affairs of this administration that if at the end, when I come to lay down the reins of power, I have lost every other friend on earth, I shall at least have one friend left, and that friend shall be down inside me.”

“Believing everyone is dangerous, But believing nobody is more dangerous.”

“Force is all conquering, but it’s victories are short lived.”

 

— Abraham Lincoln

ok….back to thinking on my husband for our anniversary.  he compels me too, you know :)

Love,

A

