deep thoughts

by willeya

there are two kinds of deep thoughts.

there’s this kind:

“Whenever I see an old lady slip and fall on a wet sidewalk, my first instinct is to laugh. But then I think, what if I was an ant, and she fell on me. Then it wouldn’t seem quite so funny.”
— Jack Handey (Deep Thoughts)

and this kind:

‎”I think we’re created deep and simple, and society doesn’t nurture that. Society nurtures shallow and complicated.” fred rogers

i appreciate both kinds.  the first through long, confusing, not-really-funny-but-they’re-all-laughing family nights and the second by way of living. and though i barely understand jack handey,  fred rogers speaks of what i discover over and over again:

this week even…

                                 i longed to go to china over christmas to hold babies in an orphanage                     because babies need snuggled.

                                                i asked my friend if this crazy tattoo was really worth getting.                     because she knows me well.

                                            i stuck it to the man and ditched my stuffy daily calendar to see                how far coffee, good music, no pressure, and a genuinely dirty house would get                                                                                                            me {very far by the way}                                                        because who is this man anyways.

                                                                                           i helped a friend who needed help                                                                                             because she needed help.

                        ben and i planned together our looooong vacation midwest.  we ran errands                        then he made blt’s while i fed baby.  he called me mama and i called him da.                             because two are better than one. 

    ben and i signed up to train to be a safe family. i think we’re crazy an unlikely pair for this                                   and am terrified nervous but we both feel Jesus calling. and so we go                         because trust is more important than understanding.

             i let go {a little more} of expectations of a few {more} people, being a reader or an                                                                           incredible dancer, or atticus being rash free,                          because i’m not in heaven.  

                 i encouraged my friend back because i know her as well as she knows me and                              because greater is He that is in her {us} than the one who is in the world.

sign me up again next week fred.  i want to {daily} make my home in these spaces, on these truths, with these people.

