whats it to me

by willeya

i sit with my hands around this black coffee.  i stick my face in the steam, letting the tears fall and mix with it all.  now it’s my hopes the steam is releasing.

i remember when peter asked about john.  he wanted to know if his life would look better. or at least the very same.

i am that peter and there’s always that john.

“what is that to you”? Jesus replied.

the question makes the answer so simple.  ’cause it’s nothing, nothing at all.

hope still lays heavy in the air but it’s time to let this coffee get cold.  my man is coming home and it’s time for the 4:30 dash. i will kiss him welcome, hiding my panting from running around. he’ll say the house looks great and we’ll find our friday night groove.

this life is my slice of daily bread. i will eat and be full.

Which of you, if his son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?  If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! Matthew 7:9-11

